Navigation

Atlas Users and Teams

Overview

To access Atlas, you must have an Atlas user account. If you are an existing MongoDB Cloud Manager user, you can use your Cloud Manager credentials.

To access an organization or a project within that organization, user must be a member of that organization. Depending on the user’s role in the organization, the Atlas user may be required to be a member of the project as well to access a project.

To access clusters in a project, users must belong to that project. Users can belong to multiple projects.

Within an organization, you can group users into teams. Users can belong multiple teams. Teams can be assigned to multiple projects, and team members’ access to the the project is determined by the team’s project role.

Important

Atlas users are separate from MongoDB users. MongoDB users can access MongoDB databases, while Atlas users can access the Atlas application itself.

Manage Organization Users

Add Users to an Organization

To add users to an organization, you must have the Organization Owner role for the organization.

Important

Atlas limits Atlas user membership to a maximum of 500 Atlas users per organization.

1

Select the organization from the Context.

2

Click Users, then click the Add User button.

3

Add new users to the organization.

  1. Enter the new user’s email address or JIRA username in the text box.
  2. Select the user from the displayed list.
  3. Select the user’s organization role.
  4. Repeat for any additional users.
4

Click Add Users to Organization.

Atlas sends an e-mail to the selected users inviting them to join the organization. Invited users do not have access to the organization until they accept the invitation. Invitations expire after 30 days.

View User Invitations

When you invite a user to join an organization, Atlas sends an email invitation to join the organization.

To view any unaccepted invitations, click Users from the organization view. Atlas displays the Name of users who have not accepted their invitation as Pending User.

Edit Organization User’s Role

To modify the role of an organization user, you must have the Organization Owner role for the organization.

For the organization:

  1. Click on Users.
  2. For the organization user to modify, click Edit Role.
  3. Select the new role for the user and click on the checkmark to save.

Remove Organization Users

To remove users from an organization, you must have the Organization Owner role for the organization.

Note

You cannot remove the last Organization Owner from an organization.

1

Select the organization from the Context.

2

Click Users.

3

Click the trash can icon to the right of the user.

4

Click the user’s gear icon and select Delete User.

Manage Organization Teams

For an organization, you can group its users into teams to faciliate adding multiple users to projects. You assign project access at the team level. All users in the team share the same project access.

Organization users can belong to multiple teams.

Create a Team

Important

To create a team for an organization, you must have Organization Owner access.

Atlas limits the number of users to a maximum of 100 teams per project and a maximum of 250 teams per organization.

1

Go to the organization’s Teams view.

  1. In the Context, select the organization for which you wish to create a team.
  2. Click Teams.
2

Create a new team.

  1. Click New Team.
  2. Enter the name of your new team. The name must be unique within an organization.
  3. Add organization users to the team.
  4. Click Create Team.

Manage Team Members

Important

To add users to a team or to delete users from a team, you must have Organization Owner access.

Atlas limits Atlas user membership to a maximum of 250 Atlas per team.

1

Go to the Teams view for the organization.

  1. In the Context, select the organization whose team you want to modify.
  2. Click Teams.
2

Add or remove users from a team.

Click on the name of the team you wish to modify.

  • To add a member to a team, click Add Members. Specify the user, and click Add Members.

  • To delete a member from a team, click the trash can icon for the member. Removing a user from the team removes the user’s project assignments granted by the team membership.

    If a user is assigned to a project through both a team and individual assignment, removing the user from a team does not remove the the user’s assignment to that project.

Rename a Team

Important

To rename a team for an organization, you must have Organization Owner access.

1

Go to the Teams view for the organization.

  1. In the Context, select the organization whose team you want to modify.
  2. Click Teams.
2

Rename a team.

For the team you wish to rename:

  1. Click the ellipsis (...) button under the Actions column.

  2. Click Rename Team.

  3. Enter a new name for the team, and click Rename Team.

    The team name must be unique within the organization.

Delete a Team

Important

To delete a team for an organization, you must have Organization Owner access.

1

Go to the Teams view for the organization.

  1. In the Context, select the organization whose team you want to modify.
  2. Click Teams.
2

Delete a team.

For the team you wish to delete:

  1. Click the ellipsis (...) button under the Actions column.

  2. Click Delete Team.

  3. Confirm that you wish to proceed with team deletion.

    For users belonging the team, deleting the team removes the users’ project assignments granted by that team membership.

Manage Project Users and Teams

Add Users/Teams to a Project

Important

Adding a user to a project also adds that user to the organization.

Atlas limits the number of teams to a maximum of:

  • 100 teams per project and
  • 250 teams per organization.

Atlas also limits Atlas user membership to a maximum of:

  • 500 per project and
  • 500 per organization, which includes the combined membership of all projects in the organization.

Atlas raises an error if an operation would exceed any of the stated limits.

Example

You have an organization with five projects. Each project has 100 Atlas users. Each Atlas user belongs to only one project. You cannot add any Atlas users to this organization or any project in that organization without first removing existing Atlas users from the organization or project membership.

1

Select the project from the Context.

2

Click Users & Teams, then click the Add User & Teams button.

2

Specify the user or team to add.

  1. Enter the new user’s email address or JIRA username in the text box. For teams, enter the team name.
  2. Select the user or team from the displayed list.
  3. Select the user’s or team’s project role.
  4. Repeat for any additional users or teams.
3

Click Add Users or Teams to Project.

Atlas sends an e-mail to the selected users inviting them to join the project. Invited users do not have access to the project until they accept the invitation. Invitations expire after 30 days.

Teams are added to the project immediately.

View Users/Teams for a Project

To view users and teams for a project, click Users & Teams.

Individual users are ordered by status. They appear in the following sequence:

  1. Users currently in your project.
  2. Users with pending invitations to join your project.
  3. Users requesting to join your project.

A user can request to join a project when first registering for Atlas.

View User Invitations

When you invite a user to join a project, Atlas sends an email invitation to join the project.

To view any unaccepted invitations, click Users & Teams from the projects view. Atlas displays the Name of users who have not accepted their invitation as Pending User and their role as –invite sent–.

Remove Users/Teams from a Project

Important

Project must have at least one user or team. You cannot delete the last member (be it a user or team) from the project. You must instead close the project.

You also cannot delete the last Project Owner remaining in the project. You must first assign the role to at least one other user before deleting the original user.

From the project:

1

Click the project’s Users & Teams.

2

Click the trash can icon in the Action column for the user or team to remove.

3

Click Remove User or Remove Team in the confirmation modal.

Edit Project Role for a User/Team

A user with the Project Owner role for the project can edit roles for existing users/teams in the project.

To edit the project roles for a user/team, from the project:

1

Click Users & Teams.

2

For the user or the team to modify, click Edit Role in the Actions column.

3

Select the appropriate role(s) for the user/team.

4

Click the checkmark to save.

You may need to enter verification information.