Navigation

Projects

Groups are now projects in the organizations and projects hierarchy.

You can create multiple projects in an organization.

By having multiple projects within an organization, you can:

  • Isolate different environments (for instance, development/qa/prod environments) from each other.
  • Associate different users or teams with different environments, or give different permissions to users in different environments.
  • Maintain separate cluster security configurations. For example:
    • Create/manage different sets of database user credentials for each project.
    • Isolate networks in different VPCs.
  • Create different alert settings. For example, configure alerts for Production environments differently than Development environments.
  • Deploy into different regions or cloud platforms.

Create a Project

Prerequisites

To create a project for an organization, you must be either an Organization Owner or an Organization Project Creator.

When you create a project, you are added as an Project Owner for the project.

Procedure

To create a project for an organization:

1
2

Name your new project.

  1. Enter the name for your new project.
  2. Click Next.
3

Add members.

  1. For existing Atlas users, enter their username. Usually, this is the email the person used to register.
  2. For new Atlas users, enter their email address to send an invitation.
4

Specify the access for the members.

5

Click Create Project.

Move a Project

Prerequisites

To move a project to another Atlas organization, you must be an Organization Owner for both the current and the destination organization.

Procedure

To move a project for an organization:

1

View all of your projects.

  1. If it is not already displayed, select the organization that contains your desired project from the office icon Organizations menu in the navigation bar.
  2. Click the Leaf icon in the upper left corner of the page. You can also expand the Projects menu in the navigation bar, then click View All Projects.
2

Select the project you want to move.

For the project you want to move:

  1. Click ellipsis icon .
  2. Click Move Project.

The Move Project dialog appears.

3

Select the target organization. Click Next: Confirm to go to the confirmation screen.

4

Click Confirm & Move.

Billing a Moved Project

An Organization Owner of two different Organizations can move projects between those Organizations at any time. Usage in any particular project during any particular hour is accrued to the Organization under which the project was at that time.

Example

An Organization Owner owns the Telecomm and Storage Organizations in Atlas. They decide to move their Backup project from Telecomm to Storage at 11:40 am.

The Telecomm project is billed for the full 11:00 to 11:59 am hour. Storage starts getting billed at 12:00 pm.

Important

Atlas removes existing API Keys after moving the Project. You must create a new API Key after moving the Project.

Delete a Project

Prerequisites

  • To delete a project for an organization, you must either have the Project Owner role for the project or have the Organization Owner role for the project’s organization.
  • The project has no outstanding invoices.
  • The project has no active clusters. Terminate active clusters in the project before you delete it.

Procedure

To delete a project for an organization, you can delete from the organization’s Projects view or the project’s Project Setting view.

To delete a project from the organization’s Projects view:

1

View all of your projects.

  1. If it is not already displayed, select the organization that contains your desired project from the office icon Organizations menu in the navigation bar.
  2. Click the Leaf icon in the upper left corner of the page. You can also expand the Projects menu in the navigation bar, then click View All Projects.
2

For the project you want to delete, click trash icon .

3

Click Delete Project.

4

If Two Factor Authentication is enabled, enter the verification code.

After verifying, click Delete Project again.

To delete from the project’s Project Setting view:

1
2

In the Delete Project section, click Delete.

3

Click Delete Project to confirm.

4

If Two Factor Authentication is enabled, enter the verification code.

After verifying, click Delete Project again.