Navigation

Delete an Atlas Account

To delete your Atlas account, you must ensure that you have no:

  • Outstanding invoices
  • Active clusters
  • Projects
  • Organizations

This document walks you through deleting your Atlas account.

Delete All Projects

Prerequisites

To delete a project for an organization:

  • You must either have the Owner role for the project or have the Organization Owner role for the project’s organization.
  • The project must have no outstanding invoices.
  • The project must have no active clusters.

Check Project Invoices

To learn how to view your project’s invoices, see View or Download Your Current Invoices.

Terminate All Clusters

Warning

Terminating a cluster also deletes any backup snapshots for that cluster. See Snapshot Schedule.

To terminate an Atlas cluster:

1

In the Context dropdown, select the project that contains the cluster you want to delete.

The context dropdown menu is in the top left corner of the Atlas dashboard.
2

In the left navigation panel, click Clusters under Atlas.

3

For the cluster you wish to terminate, click the icon. button.

4

Click Terminate.

Atlas executes the terminate operation after completing any in-progress deployment changes.

Delete a Project

You can delete a project for an organization either from the organization’s Projects view or the project’s Project Setting view:

1

In the Context dropdown, select the project’s organization to view the organization’s Projects.

2

Click the trash icon button for the project you wish to delete.

3

Continue by clicking Delete Project.

4

If Two Factor Authentication is enabled, enter in the verification code. After verifying, click Delete Project again.

1

In the Context dropdown, select the Project.

2

In the left navigation panel, click Settings under Project.

3

In the Project Settings, click Delete Project.

4

Click Delete Project to confirm.

5

If Two Factor Authentication is enabled, enter the verification code. After verifying, click Delete Project again.

Delete All Organizations

Important

To delete an organization, you must have Organization Owner role for the organization.

You cannot delete an organization that has active projects. You must delete the organization’s projects before you can delete the organization.

1

In the Context dropdown, select the organization to delete.

2

Click Settings.

3

In the General Settings tab, click Delete.

This displays the Delete Organization dialog.

4

Click Delete Organization to confirm.

Once you delete all active clusters, projects, and organizations, your Atlas account should be permanently deleted. You do not need to contact Atlas support. If you wish to ensure that your account has been completely deleted, you can contact support via the chat bubble or create a support ticket depending on your plan.

Important

You cannot reuse the email address that is associated with the deleted account to create a new Atlas account.