Create a New Cluster

In this tutorial, you'll learn how to create a new Atlas cluster. To learn how to modify an existing Atlas cluster, see Modify a Cluster.

Atlas-managed MongoDB deployments, or "clusters", can be either a replica set or a sharded cluster. This tutorial walks you through creating a replica set.

The procedure for creating a new Atlas cluster differs depending on whether or not you already have one or more clusters in your project.

  1. If it is not already displayed, select the organization that contains your desired project from the Organizations menu in the navigation bar.
  2. If it is not already displayed, select your desired project from the Projects menu in the navigation bar.
  3. If the Clusters page is not already displayed, click Clusters in the sidebar.

Click the Build a Cluster button to display the Create New Cluster dialog.


Begin the cluster configuration process by choosing one of three cluster types: Starter, Single-Region, or Multi-Region. Each panel leads to a configuration page where you can customize your cluster to your specifications.

Starter Clusters
Starter clusters include the M0, M2, and M5 tiers. These low-cost cluster types are suitable for teams who are learning MongoDB or developing small proof-of-concept applications. You can begin your project with a starter cluster and upgrade to a production-ready tier at a future time.
Single-Region Clusters
Single-Region clusters include M10 and higher tiers. The M10 and M20 tiers are suitable for development environments and low-traffic applications, while higher tiers can handle large datasets and high-traffic applications. Single-Region clusters are deployed into a single geographical region, which reduces monthly costs but also reduces resilience in case of a regional network outage.
Multi-Region Clusters
Multi-Region clusters are deployed into multiple geographical regions, providing high availability and low latency for applications which are served worldwide. To deploy a global cluster, toggle the Global Clusters switch to On.

Select your preferred cluster preset and click Create a Cluster to customize the cluster configuration prior to deployment. If you prefer to configure your cluster with no preset options, click Advanced Configuration Options in the lower-right corner of the screen.

Cluster types

The choice of cloud provider and region affects the configuration options for the available cluster tiers, network latency for clients accessing your cluster, the geographic location of the nodes in your cluster, and the cost of running the cluster.

For details, see Cloud Providers and Regions.

From the Cloud Provider & Region section, you can also choose to deploy your cluster across multiple regions. Multi-region clusters can better withstand data center outages and may contain dedicated geographic regions for localized reads, thereby improving performance. To learn how to deploy a multi-region cluster, see High Availability and Workload Isolation Options.


The selected tier dictates the memory, storage, and IOPS specification for each data-bearing server [1] in the cluster.

Image showing the cluster tier selection.

Cluster tiers M10 and greater support Cluster Auto-Scaling. When auto-scaling is enabled, Atlas automatically scales your cluster tier, storage capacity, or both in response to cluster usage. Consider enabling auto-scaling to allow your cluster to adapt to your current workload and reduce the need to make manual optimizations.

  • Cluster storage scaling automatically increases your cluster storage capacity when 90% of disk capacity is used. This setting is on by default to help ensure that your cluster can always support sudden influxes of data.
  • Cluster tier scaling automatically scales your cluster tier up or down in response to various cluster metrics. You must manually opt-in to cluster tier scaling.

    When you enable cluster tier scaling, you set:

    • A maximum cluster tier to which your cluster can automatically scale up, and
    • (Optional) A minimum tier to which your cluster can scale down.

For more information on how to select an appropriate cluster tier and storage settings for your workload, see Cluster Tier and Customize Cluster Storage.


This is the cluster name as it appears in Atlas. You cannot change the cluster name once Atlas deploys the cluster.

Name cluster input

Cluster names can't exceed 64 characters in length.


Atlas truncates the cluster name to 23 characters in its internal interactions. In practice, this means:

  • Cluster names shorter than 23 characters can't end with hyphen or dash (-)
  • Cluster names 23 characters or longer can't use a hyphen or dash (-) as its 23rd character.
  • The first 23 characters in a cluster name must be unique within a project.

Click Create Cluster below the form to deploy your cluster.


Each Atlas project supports up to 25 clusters. Please contact Atlas support for questions or assistance regarding the cluster limit. To contact support, select Support from the left-hand navigation bar of the Atlas UI.

[1](1, 2) For replica sets, the data-bearing servers are the servers hosting the replica set nodes. For sharded clusters, the data-bearing servers are the servers hosting the shards. For sharded clusters, Atlas also deploys servers for the config servers; these are charged at a rate separate from the cluster costs.
Give Feedback