Navigation

Restore a Cluster

Note

This feature is not available for Free Tier clusters. For more information, see Atlas M0 (Free Tier) Limitations.

Atlas lets you restore data from a scheduled snapshot or from a selected point between snapshots. For replica sets, you can restore from selected points in time. For sharded clusters you can restore from checkpoints between snapshots. For information on backup, Back Up a Cluster.

Restore a Cluster

To restore a cluster:

  1. Click Backup in the left-hand navigation.

    The Overview lists the group’s clusters. If the cluster has backup enabled, its Status is Active. If the cluster has backup disabled, its Status is Inactive.

  2. Select a cluster’s snapshot to use for the restore.

    Hover over the Active status of the cluster and click Restore or Download.

    Alternatively, you can click the ... button for the cluster and select the Restore.

  3. Follow the prompts to restore your cluster.

    You may choose to:

    • Download your backup data via HTTPS and restore manually.

      - or -

    • Have Atlas restore to a selected cluster. Atlas can only restore to a cluster of the same type (i.e. replica set to replica set or sharded cluster to sharded cluster).

      Note

      The MongoDB versions must also be compatible. For instance, you cannot restore from a snapshot of a 3.4 cluster to a 3.2 cluster.

      You can choose to restore to a cluster of a different group:

      • To restore to another Atlas group, you must have Group Owner role for the destination group.
      • To restore to a Cloud Manager group, you must have Automation Admin or Backup Admin role for the destination group.

      In the prompt for destination, specify the group and select one of its clusters.

      The restore process requires downtime for the target cluster.