Google Cloud Platform (GCP)


Atlas supports deploying clusters onto Google Cloud Platform (GCP). This page provides reference material related to Atlas cluster deployments on GCP.

Atlas supports the following GCP regions. The Atlas API uses the corresponding Atlas Region.

GCP Region Location Atlas Region M0 Free Tier Support M2/M5 Shared-Tier Support
us-central1 Iowa, USA CENTRAL_US check square icon check square icon
us-east1 South Carolina, USA EASTERN_US    
us-east4 North Virginia, USA US_EAST_4    
northamerica-northeast1 Montreal, Canada NORTH_AMERICA_NORTHEAST_1    
southamerica-east1 Sao Paulo, Brazil SOUTH_AMERICA_EAST_1    
us-west1 Oregon, USA WESTERN_US    
us-west2 Los Angeles, CA, USA US_WEST_2    
us-west3 Salt Lake City, UT, USA US-WEST_3    
us-west4 Las Vegas, NV, USA US-WEST_4    
GCP Region Location Atlas Region M0 Free Tier Support M2/M5 Shared-Tier Support
asia-east1 Taiwan EASTERN_ASIA_PACIFIC check square icon check square icon
asia-east2 Hong Kong, China ASIA_EAST_2    
asia-northeast1 Tokyo, Japan NORTHEASTERN_ASIA_PACIFIC check square icon check square icon
asia-northeast2 Osaka, Japan ASIA_NORTHEAST_2    
asia-northeast3 Seoul, Korea ASIA_NORTHEAST_3    
asia-southeast1 Singapore SOUTHEASTERN_ASIA_PACIFIC check square icon  
asia-south1 Mumbai, India ASIA_SOUTH_1 check square icon check square icon
australia-southeast1 Sydney, Australia AUSTRALIA_SOUTHEAST_1    
asia-southeast2 Jakarta, Indonesia ASIA-SOUTHEAST_2    
GCP Region Location Atlas Region M0 Free Tier Support M2/M5 Shared-Tier Support
europe-west1 Belgium WESTERN_EUROPE check square icon check square icon
europe-north1 Finland EUROPE_NORTH_1    
europe-west2 London, UK EUROPE_WEST_2    
europe-west3 Frankfurt, Germany EUROPE_WEST_3    
europe-west4 Netherlands EUROPE_WEST_4    
europe-west6 Zurich, Switzerland EUROPE_WEST_6    

Cluster Configuration Options

Each Atlas cluster tier comes with a default set of resources. Atlas provides the following resource configuration options:

Custom Storage Size

The size of the server root volume. Atlas clusters deployed onto GCP use SSD persistent storage [1].

The following cluster tiers are available:

Cluster Tiers Default Storage Default RAM
M2 2 GB Shared
M5 5 GB Shared
M10 10 GB 1.7 GB
M20 20 GB 3.8 GB
M30 40 GB 7.5 GB
M40 80 GB 15 GB
M40 Low-CPU (R40) 2 80 GB 16 GB
M50 160 GB 30 GB
M50 Low-CPU (R50) 2 160 GB 32 GB
M60 320 GB 60 GB
M60 Low-CPU (R60) 2 320 GB 64 GB
M80 750 GB 120 GB
M80 Low-CPU (R80) 2 750 GB 128 GB
M200 1500 GB 240 GB
M200 Low-CPU (R200) 2 1500 GB 256 GB
M300 1 2000 GB 360 GB
M300 Low-CPU (R300) 2 2000 GB 384 GB
M400 Low-CPU (R400) 2 3000 GB 512 GB
M400 Low-CPU (R600) 2 4096 GB 640 GB

1 Unavailable in the following regions:


2 Atlas limits R-class instances to the following regions:

  • asia-east1
  • asia-northeast1
  • asia-southeast1
  • europe-west1
  • europe-west2
  • europe-west4
  • us-central1
  • us-west1

Cluster Tier & API Naming Conventions

For purposes of management with the Atlas API, cluster tier names that are prepended with R instead of an M (R40 for example) run a low-CPU version of the cluster. When creating or modifying a cluster with the API, be sure to specify your desired cluster class by name with the providerSettings.instanceSizeName attribute.

Workloads typically require less than 2TB of storage.

Atlas configures the following resources automatically and does not allow user modification:

Storage Speed

The input/output operations per second (IOPS) [1] the system can perform. This value is fixed at 30 IOPS per GB for reads and 30 IOPS per GB for writes for a total of 60 IOPS per GB.


The M30 cluster has a default storage size of 40 GB. This results in a maximum read speed of 1,200 IOPS and a maximum write speed of 1,200 IOPS. Increasing the storage size to 100 GB per cluster increases the maximum read speed of 3,000 IOPS and a maximum write speed of 3,000 IOPS.

Encrypted Storage Volumes

GCP storage volumes are always encrypted.

GCP Zones

Each GCP region includes a set number of independent zones. Each zone has power, cooling, networking, and control planes that are isolated from other zones. For regions that have at least three zones (3Z), Atlas deploys clusters across three zones. For regions that only have two zones (2Z), Atlas deploys clusters across two zones.

The Atlas Add New Cluster form marks regions that support 3Z clusters as Recommended, as they provide higher availability.

The number of zones in a region has no effect on the number of MongoDB nodes Atlas can deploy. MongoDB Atlas clusters are always made of replica sets with a minimum of three MongoDB nodes.

For general information on GCP regions and zones, see the Google documentation on regions and zones.

Regions with at Least Three Zones

If the selected GCP region has at least three zones, Atlas clusters are split across three zones. For example, a three node replica set cluster would have one node deployed onto each zone.

A 3-node replica set deployed across a 3-zone GCP region.

3Z clusters have higher availability compared to 2Z clusters. However, not all regions support 3Z clusters.

[1](1, 2) For detailed documentation on Google storage options, see Storage Options.