Navigation
  • Clusters >
  • Pause or Terminate a Cluster

Pause or Terminate a Cluster

Considerations

  • You can pause a cluster:
    • In the M10 or larger tiers.
    • If it doesn’t use NVMe storage.
  • You can’t:
    • Modify the configuration of a paused cluster.
    • Read data from or write data to a paused cluster.
  • For paused clusters, Atlas:
    • Bills you at a different rate. On paused clusters, Atlas only charges for storage. Atlas does not charge for any other services or data transfer on paused clusters.
    • Doesn’t trigger configured alerts.
    • Stops all backups. Your existing snapshots remain until they expire.

Pause One Cluster

You can pause a cluster for 30 days. If you don’t resume the cluster within 30 days, Atlas resumes the cluster.

To pause a Atlas cluster:

1
2

Pause the cluster.

  1. For the cluster you want to pause, click ellipsis icon .
  2. Click Pause Cluster.
  3. Click Pause Cluster to confirm your choice.

Resume One Cluster

To resume a paused Atlas cluster:

1

Navigate to the Clusters page for your project.

  1. If it is not already displayed, select the organization that contains your desired project from the office icon Organizations menu in the navigation bar.
  2. If it is not already displayed, select your desired project from the Projects menu in the navigation bar.
  3. If the Clusters page is not already displayed, click Clusters in the sidebar.
2

Resume the cluster.

For the cluster you want to pause, either:

  • Click ellipsis icon , then click Resume, or
  • Click Resume.

Note

If you don’t resume the cluster within 30 days, Atlas resumes the cluster.

Terminate One Cluster

To terminate an Atlas cluster:

1

Navigate to the Clusters page for your project.

  1. If it is not already displayed, select the organization that contains your desired project from the office icon Organizations menu in the navigation bar.
  2. If it is not already displayed, select your desired project from the Projects menu in the navigation bar.
  3. If the Clusters page is not already displayed, click Clusters in the sidebar.
3

Click ellipsis icon next to the cluster you want to terminate.

3

Click Terminate.

Atlas terminates the cluster after completing any in-progress deployment changes.

Atlas bills for the hours that the cluster was active. To learn more about Atlas billing, see Billing.

Warning

Terminating a cluster also deletes any backup snapshots for that cluster. See Snapshot Schedule.

Public IP Reusable within 36 Hours

When you terminate a cluster, Atlas reserves the cluster’s public IP address, bound to its original cluster name, for 36 hours. If, in that time frame, you create a new cluster with the same name, Atlas reassigns the reserved public IP address to that cluster.

Cluster IP addresses don’t change when clusters are paused then resumed.