Navigation

Pause, Resume, or Terminate a Cluster

  • You can't:

    • Modify the configuration of a paused cluster.
    • Read data from or write data to a paused cluster.
  • For paused clusters, Atlas:

    • Doesn't trigger configured alerts.
    • Stops all backups. Your existing snapshots remain until they expire.

Depending on your cluster tier, Atlas either pauses clusters automatically or when you initiate.

You can pause M10 or larger clusters:

  • If they do not use NVMe storage.
  • For up to 30 days. If you don't resume the cluster within 30 days, Atlas resumes the cluster.

Atlas only charges paused clusters for storage. Atlas does not charge for any other services or data transfer on paused clusters.

To pause an Atlas cluster:

1
  1. If it is not already displayed, select the organization that contains your desired project from the Organizations menu in the navigation bar.
  2. If it is not already displayed, select your desired project from the Projects menu in the navigation bar.
  3. If the Clusters page is not already displayed, click Clusters in the sidebar.
2
  1. For the cluster you want to pause, click .
  2. Click Pause Cluster.
  3. Click Pause Cluster to confirm your choice.

To resume a paused Atlas cluster:

1
  1. If it is not already displayed, select the organization that contains your desired project from the Organizations menu in the navigation bar.
  2. If it is not already displayed, select your desired project from the Projects menu in the navigation bar.
  3. If the Clusters page is not already displayed, click Clusters in the sidebar.
2

For the cluster you want to pause, either:

  • Click , then click Resume, or
  • Click Resume.
Info With Circle IconCreated with Sketch.Note

If you don't resume an M10+ cluster within 30 days, Atlas resumes the cluster.

To terminate an Atlas cluster:

1
  1. If it is not already displayed, select the organization that contains your desired project from the Organizations menu in the navigation bar.
  2. If it is not already displayed, select your desired project from the Projects menu in the navigation bar.
  3. If the Clusters page is not already displayed, click Clusters in the sidebar.
2
3

Atlas terminates the cluster after completing any in-progress deployment changes.

Atlas bills for the hours that the cluster was active. To learn more about Atlas billing, see Billing.

Warning IconCreated with Sketch.Warning

Terminating a cluster also deletes any backup snapshots for that cluster. See Snapshot Schedule.

Info With Circle IconCreated with Sketch.Note
Public IP Reusable within 36 Hours

When you terminate a cluster, Atlas reserves the cluster's public IP address, bound to its original cluster name, for 36 hours. If, in that time frame, you create a new cluster with the same name, Atlas reassigns the reserved public IP address to that cluster.

Cluster IP addresses don't change when clusters are paused then resumed.

Give Feedback