Navigation

Delete an Online Archive

Beta

Online archive is available as a Beta feature. The feature and the corresponding documentation may change at any time during the Beta stage.

You can delete an online archive through the Atlas UI and API. When you remove an online archive, data on the cloud object storage for the online archive is also deleted. Once deleted, data can’t be restored.

If you drop a database and/or collection configured for online archive, the data from the collection, if archived, will continue to be available on the cloud object storage. You will incur costs for storage on the cloud object storage. Alternatively, if you delete the cluster, Atlas deletes all the online archives configured for the cluster. This causes any archived data to also be deleted from the cloud object storage.

If all the online archives are deleted, the Data Lake is also deleted and a new Data Lake is created when you create an online archive again.

Once an online archive is deleted, its state moves to Deleted. You can create another online archive for the same database, collection, and fields as the deleted online archive if there is no other online archive for the same database, collection, and fields in Active state.

Delete an Online Archive from the UI

To delete an online archive, in your Atlas UI:

1
2
4

Click the ellipsis (...) in the Actions column for the online archive to display the list of allowed actions.

You can:

  • Pause Archive (only if state is Active)
  • Edit Archiving Rule
  • Delete Archive
  • Resume Archive (only if state is Paused)
5

Select Delete Archive from the ellipsis menu to display the Delete Online Archive confirmation window.

5

Enter the name of the online archive to delete and click Delete.

Delete an Online Archive Through the API

To delete an online archive through the API, send a DELETE request to the onlineArchives endpoint with the unique ID of the online archive to delete. To learn more about the API syntax and options, see Delete an Online Archive.