Navigation

Move a Cluster

Atlas supports moving M0+ single-region and M10+ multi-region clusters to new regions.

Considerations

Migration, Downtime and Performance Impact

Depending on the amount of data to migrate, migrations can take a significant amount of time. To maximize availability for a replica set, Atlas migrates one member at a time, starting with the secondary members first and then the primary.

Migration can affect performance if your primary is already reaching operational capacity: each newly migrated replica set member must perform an initial sync from the primary, adding to the operational load. Migrations can also affect performance if read preferences are set to read from secondaries: the replica set is down one secondary during the migration.

VPC Peering (AWS Only)

If you move a cluster out of a region that has a VPC (Virtual Private Cloud) peering connection, the moved cluster can no longer use that peering connection to communicate with servers in the VPC. Any other clusters with nodes remaining in the original region can continue to use the VPC peering connection.

You can create multiple VPC connections for each region, including a new VPC peering connection with the region to which you moved a cluster. However, AWS does not support VPC peering connections between regions.

Note

Cluster nodes moved out of a region can no longer inherit access rules from an AWS security group or IP whitelisted VPC CIDR blocks configured for the VPC peering connection. You must Add Entries to the Whitelist for all the virtual servers residing in the VPC. Cluster nodes remaining in the region are unaffected.

Move a Single-Region Cluster

Use the following procedure to move nodes to an M0+ single-region cluster:

Note

You cannot change the cloud provider of an M10+ cluster. You may change both the cloud provider and the region for M2 and M5 clusters if the desired cloud provider and region supports those instance types. You can only change the region of an M0 Free Tier cluster.

1

Go to the Clusters view.

Click the ellipses … icon for the cluster that you want to move, then select Edit Configuration.

Alternatively, if you are already viewing the specific cluster, click Configuration.

2

In the Region list, on the Region pane, choose the desired new region for the new cluster.

For M0, M2, and M5 instance sizes, the available regions are a subset of the total supported regions for any given cloud service provider.

3

Click Confirm & Deploy.

Move a Multi-Region Cluster

Use the following procedure to move nodes to one or more regions in an M10+ multi-region cluster:

Note

Each node in the preferred and electable regions can participate in replica set elections and can become the primary as long as the majority of nodes in the replica set are available. The total number of electable nodes in the cluster, nodes that participate in elections, must be 3, 5, or 7.

1

Go to the Clusters view.

Select the cluster that you want to move, then click Configuration.

2

Distribute your cluster nodes across regions.

  1. In the Preferred Region list, on the Region pane, select the preferred region for your cluster.

    Your cluster’s primary is deployed to your preferred region.

  2. In the Nodes box, enter the number of nodes to deploy to the preferred region.

    For details on how the number of nodes affects cost, see Number of Servers.

  3. In the Electable Region list, select another region across which you want to deploy electable cluster nodes.

  4. In the Nodes box, enter the number of nodes to deploy to the electable region.

    (Optional) Click Add a new region and repeat steps c - d if you want to add an additional electable region.

  5. Toggle Deploy read-only replicas if you want to deploy nodes in a read-only region.

  6. Click Add a read-only region.

  7. In the Read-Only Region list, select the region where you want to deploy read-only nodes.

  8. In the Nodes box, enter the number of nodes to deploy to the read-only region.

    (Optional) Click Add a new region and repeat steps f - h if you want to add an additional read-only region.

3

Click Confirm & Deploy.