Docs Menu

Select the MongoDB Version of the Clustericons/link.png

Atlas supports creating clusters with the following tiers and MongoDB versions:

MongoDB Version
Supported on M10+
Supported on Free and Shared Tiers (M0, M2, M5)
MongoDB 4.0
MongoDB 4.2
MongoDB 4.4
MongoDB 5.0
Latest Release (auto-upgrades)

To use a rapid release MongoDB version, you must select Latest Release for auto-upgrades. You can't select a specific rapid release version.

As new patch releases become available, Atlas upgrades to these releases via a rolling process to maintain cluster availability.

To learn more about how Atlas handles end of life of major MongoDB versions, see What happens to Atlas clusters using a MongoDB version nearing end of life?.


Before you upgrade your cluster, refer to the current recommended best practices for major version upgrades.

To select the MongoDB version for your cluster, use the dropdown in the Additional Settings section of the cluster form:

Image showing version selection

You can upgrade an existing Atlas cluster to a newer major MongoDB version, if available, when you scale a cluster. However, you cannot downgrade a cluster's MongoDB version.


If your project contains a custom role that uses actions introduced in a specific MongoDB version, you cannot create a cluster with a MongoDB version less than that version unless you delete the custom role.

If you select Latest Release, Atlas uses the most recent MongoDB release for your cluster. Atlas also upgrades your cluster to new major and rapid version releases via a rolling process to maintain cluster availability as each release becomes available.

You can select Latest Release only if your cluster is running the most recent major release of MongoDB.


You can upgrade your clusters to Latest Release only if they run MongoDB 5.0.

To learn more about MongoDB versions, see MongoDB Versioning in the MongoDB Manual.

Give Feedback
MongoDB logo
© 2021 MongoDB, Inc.


  • Careers
  • Investor Relations
  • Legal Notices
  • Privacy Notices
  • Security Information
  • Trust Center
© 2021 MongoDB, Inc.