Navigation

Manage Access to a Project

Required Permissions

To perform any of the following actions, you must have the Project Owner role.

You can grant Atlas users and teams access to Atlas projects. Assign user roles to enforce permission levels for Atlas users and teams.

Add Users or Teams to a Project

Important

Adding a user to a project also adds that user to the organization.

Atlas limits the number of teams to a maximum of:

  • 100 teams per project and
  • 250 teams per organization.

Atlas also limits Atlas user membership to a maximum of:

  • 500 per project and
  • 500 per organization, which includes the combined membership of all projects in the organization.

Atlas raises an error if an operation exceeds these limits.

Example

You have an organization with five projects. Each project has 100 Atlas users. Each Atlas user belongs to only one project. You cannot add any Atlas users to this organization or any project in that organization without first removing existing Atlas users from the organization or project membership.

1
2

Click the Users or Teams tab.

3
4

Add an Atlas user or team.

  1. Enter the new user’s email address or Jira username, or an existing team name.

    If the console finds a connected Jira account, Atlas invites the user to the Atlas project. If the user accepts the invite, that user is added to the corresponding Jira group.

    If you want to grant access to a new team, you must first create the team.

  2. Press Enter or click on the email address, Jira username, or team name.

  3. Repeat for any additional users or teams.

5

Select roles for the new user or team.

By default, each user is given the Organization Member role. To change or add additional roles for each user or team, click on the role dropdown menu, then select the checkboxes for each role you want the user or team to have in the project.

All team members share the roles assigned to the team on this project.

6

Click Grant Access.

Atlas sends an email to the selected users inviting them to join the project. Invited users do not have access to the project until they accept the invitation. Invitations expire after 30 days.

View Who Can Access a Project

To view which users, teams, or API Keys can access a project:

1

Navigate to the Access Manager page for your project.

  1. If it is not already displayed, select the organization that contains your desired project from the office icon Organizations menu in the navigation bar.
  2. If it is not already displayed, select your desired project from the Project menu in the navigation bar.
  3. Click Access Manager in the navigation bar, then click your project.
2

Click the Users, Teams, or API Keys tab.

Each tab lists the project’s Atlas users, teams, or API Keys along with their project roles and actions you can take on that user, team, or API Key.

View User Invitations

The Users tab lists any outstanding invitations to users to join the project and any requests from users who want to join the project. A user can request to join a project when they first register for Atlas.

Individual users are ordered by status. They appear in the following sequence:

  1. Users currently in your project.
  2. Users with pending invitations to join your project.
  3. Users requesting to join your project.

Atlas displays the Name of users who have not accepted their invitation as Pending User and their role as –invite sent–.

To cancel an invitation, click trash icon to the right of the user’s name.

Remove Users or Teams from a Project

Important

Projects must have at least one user or team. You cannot delete the last member (be it a user or team) from the project. You must instead close the project.

You also cannot delete the last Project Owner remaining in the project. You must first assign the role to at least one other user before deleting the original user.

To remove a user or team from a project:

1

Navigate to the Access Manager page for your project.

  1. If it is not already displayed, select the organization that contains your desired project from the office icon Organizations menu in the navigation bar.
  2. If it is not already displayed, select your desired project from the Project menu in the navigation bar.
  3. Click Access Manager in the navigation bar, then click your project.
2

Click the Users or Teams tab.

3

Remove the Atlas user or team.

Click trash icon to the right of the Atlas user or team you want to remove.

4

Confirm the removal.

  • To confirm an Atlas user removal, click Remove User.
  • To confirm a team removal, click Delete Team.
  • To keep the Atlas user or team in the project, click Cancel.

Edit a User’s or Team’s Role in a Project

To edit the project roles for a user or team:

1

Navigate to the Access Manager page for your project.

  1. If it is not already displayed, select the organization that contains your desired project from the office icon Organizations menu in the navigation bar.
  2. If it is not already displayed, select your desired project from the Project menu in the navigation bar.
  3. Click Access Manager in the navigation bar, then click your project.
2

Edit an Atlas user or team.

  • To edit an Atlas user, click the Users tab.
  • To edit a team, click the Teams tab.
3

Update permissions.

In the Actions column, click Edit Permissions next to the Atlas user or team whose permissions you want to modify.

5

Select the appropriate role or roles for the Atlas user or team.

6

Click check icon to save.

You might need to enter verification information.